RSS

Tell me about Space and Planet Earth

15 Jan
Tell me about Space and Planet Earth

They’re here! I can finally announce that I’ve written two new books:

Tell me about… Space and Tell me about… Planet Earth!

They will be published in March 2024 by Templar Books and they’re beautifully illustrated by Chorkung. Did I mention I’m excited?

There’s something wonderful about coming back to Earth and Space – I’m sharing something I’ve always been passionate about and making it accessible to young children.

My background is in Earth Science (I did a geophysics degree) and then I did a masters in communicating science – my MSc dissertation was developing and evaluating space educational materials for primary schools. I wrote a rockets show and toured it around schools along with space themed craft workshops. I was also a planetarium presenter back then too – at Tecniquest Science Centre in Cardiff.

Later I went on to write and deliver Space and Earth workshops at Dynamic Earth as Education Officer. That was all a long time ago, before I became an author and screenwriter. But it feels like my past and future are colliding somehow in these books and I like it!

Many months of hard work went into writing these books. I especially want to thank the editor at Templar Books (Rachael Roberts) , the designer (Nathalie), the illustrator (Chorkunn) and my brilliant former agent, Lindsey Fraser at Fraser Ross Associates.

It’s wonderful to open these books and I feel proud of what we’ve achieved in making them work so well for a young reader!

Tell me about… Space and Tell me about… Planet Earth explain university level science to four year olds in a storytelling style narrative.

I love the illustrations from Chorkung, she’s based in Thailand so we’ve never met but I’m a big fan of her work. Here’s a closer look at the gorgeous covers she created:

l’ll write another blog post soon with a peak inside the books but for now, I wanted to let you know they are coming and you can pre order them, from all good bookshops now.

These books are the second two books in the ‘Tell me about’ series. Plants and Human Body are already available in bookshops. They came out last year.

Read about Tell me about… Plants and Tell me about… Human Body on the blog here.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment