RSS

Abu Dhabi Science Festival 2014

17 Dec

20141113_125245

I spent most of November in Abu Dhabi working as a Team Leader in the Abu Dhabi Science Festival. Here’s what that looks like via YouTube:

 

It was my first visit to the United Arab Emirates. I was training local students to be science communicators. Here are some of the wonderful students I worked with from Abu Dhabi University:

20141114_211823

And here are the awesome girls from Paris Sorbonne University. The V sign isn’t offensive in Abu Dhabi, it means peace:

20141117_161752

Power It Up

We were running ‘Power It Up‘, a workshop about electricity generation and nuclear power. We had a cloud chamber, one of the most expensive and wonderful pieces of equipment in the science festival. You don’t get much more magical than trails from cosmic particles. Obviously they’re not magic, they’re science but you know what I mean.

We had to reset 225 mouse traps with 225 ping-pong balls SEVERAL TIMES every day. It was well worth it though – no better (or safer way) to demonstrate a chain reaction. Apologies for the dinosaurs, they weren’t usually there. 

20141121_135723

The Edinburgh Connection

The Abu Dhabi Science Festival has been run by the Abu Dhabi Technology Development Committee in partnership with The Edinburgh International Science Festival for the last four years. It includes hundreds of events over three sites.

Working 

Initially it was hard work with twelve-hour days of set-up and training. Here we are testing the equipment:

20141112_172452(0)

As time went on it got easier for us as our students gained confidence – they were soon running the show. We worked more behind the scenes; making sure everyone got breaks, filling up hydrogen balloons and collecting dry ice. I loved encouraging our students. Seeing them grow in confidence as they presented larger chunks of the show was immensely satisfying. They were brilliant.

Exploring

We got a couple of days off too. I went on a desert safari. Here’s me on a camel, despite my posture, it was quite slow:

20141120_174802

Image Credit: Alex House

This is much faster ‘dune bashing’. It’s driving (or mostly sliding) down the dunes – very scary!

20141120_165645

We also went kayaking in the Mangroves:

20141117_092249

The mangroves are home to an amazing tree climbing crab. I’d been to a talk about this fascinating climate-change-reversing-super-creature a few years ago. I was so excited to see the real thing – I almost fell out of my kayak!:

20141117_100522

I visited the beautiful grand central mosque too, it was interesting to find out more about the faith my students shared. We gave them prayer breaks during the day – religion seemed to run smoothly alongside science in Abu Dhabi.

20141113_103725

And I fed a giraffe a carrot in Al Ain Zoo, one of our festival locations:

20141116_143116

Social

I loved the social side of the trip, far more than I expected. I’m a writer so I’m used to time alone – I must admit, I wasn’t sure how I’d find being with people all of the time. It’s quite daunting starting a new job with new people in a new country.

Within a day I’d met a professional acrobat, comedy script editor, park ranger and a community artist. That’s just a random sample of occupations but my point is, it was a great privilege to spend time with so many interesting, creative individuals. I shared my days off with lovely people, I was in a great workshop team, I even had a swimming buddy. I also managed to be on time every single day thanks to booking THREE daily wake up calls from the hotel. I don’t normally get up super early so I was paranoid I’d sleep through my alarm. It was nice to not feel super geeky either – you’re just normal if you like science when you’re with a group of science communicators.

I visited the bar in our hotel almost every night, some nights I just rocked up with a cup of tea but I was there. It was great to see people. One of my favourite nights was a sing-song – traditional Scottish music with a fiddle and guitar. I loved dancing with everyone at ladies nights too – dancing until 3am and not even noticing how late it was. This is one of these nights:

dancing

Image Credit: Sian Rae

Many of the people on the team were from Edinburgh so I’ve had the pleasure with meeting up with some of them back in the UK – long may that continue.

Change is Good
This is definitely the most relaxed I’ve felt in months – I think it must be a combination of sunshine, good company, job satisfaction and being off social media. I came back to Book Week Scotland, for me that was nine events in five days all over the country starting the day after I’d arrived off the plane. I’d expected the volume of performances and logistics of touring to stress me but the relaxed inner Abu-Dhabi feeling continued. The good news is, it’s still with me. It’s made me think – perhaps just checking my phone once a day might actually be a better way to live.

IMG-20141121-WA0000

Image Credit: Sarah Bates

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2014 in Education, Events, Science

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Abu Dhabi Science Festival 2014

  1. helenmackinven

    December 22, 2014 at 11:50 am

    Looks like an amazing trip Emily!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Scotland Writers FC

a stramash in the goalmouth of literature

Cultivating and Creating

A life of joy and celebration.

Tartan Kicks - The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

quiteirregular

Jem Bloomfield on culture, gender and Christianity

Schietree

Writer, Reader, Kind of Spritely Looking

Gill Arbuthnott: Children's Author

children's books.com website

chaestrathie

words and pictures

Televigion

Words inspired by moving images

sds

subjects, objects, verbs

Great Big Jar

A great big jar of bloggyness

wildswimmers

on Scotland's West Coast

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Yay! YA+

Scotland's First Festival Dedicated To YA Fiction...And More!

Scotland's Nature

Scottish Natural Heritage

The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven

Children's author, writing coach and playwright

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

