RSS

The Skiff World Championship

12 Jul

If you were on a writing retreat in Ullapool and it happened to be the Skiff World Championship you’d join in a little wouldn’t you?

Today I swapped my pen for an oar when the Portsoy Skiffettes offered me a row. My friend Chris (he’s rowing for Newburgh) told them I’d never been on a skiff. “This lassie wants a shot!” someone shouted and they quickly assembled an experienced cox and three experienced rowers and soon after we headed out in their hot pink skiff.

I’ve been in a rowing boat but this was different. The oars are much longer and you just have one each. I needed to watch the oar ahead of me and time my oar to hit the water at just the same time. You have a seat each so the oars are staggered. I loved it, my arms are aching a little now but that’s a good thing. Here we are afterwards, that’s me in the green:

20130712_153054

The Portsoy Skiffettes built their own boat, just like the other teams here. They explained it’s a community boat that brings people of all ages and backgrounds together. The World Championship has heats for over 40s, over 50s and over 60s so it’s something people enjoy well into retirement.

I must confess this afternoon’s row isn’t the first bit of joining in I’ve done. I was at the opening ceremony on Monday – here are the skiffs with their oars in the air saluting Princess Anne:

IMG_20130708_140112

On Tuesday I purchased a bright green skiff hoodie (I know, proper joining in now!). I also discovered the wonderful Sephira – a musical ark from Pennsylvania designed to play music in the range of whale speak:

IMG_20130708_144013

On Wednesday I caught the mens over 60s final :

IMG_20130710_115754 (1)

Yesterday I met my local team from Edinburgh, the Newhaven rowers:

20130711_121854

I love the team portrait created by the girl above:

IMG_20130711_155417

Today I watched a few races, rowed on a pink skiff and stayed for the prize giving ceremony.

Just as the ceremony began some loud music started to play from a nearby car. “Shhhh!” people said angrily, aiming their voices in the direction of the noise but then… a bunch of rowers in red t-shirts jumped into the middle and started dancing. It was North Berwick, the largest crew here. More of the crew joined in waves until finally, two men in drag joined the flash mob:

20130712_153604

After the ceremony I went to find the Dutch team in the campsite. I’d heard they party all night long and have the most fancy camp gear. I can confirm they really did bring leather sofas:

IMG_20130712_160204

And a hoist barbecue:

IMG_20130712_160356

There’s just one day of rowing left in the world championship and it’s close on the leader board:

IMG_20130712_145201

As for the writing you’ll be pleased to know it is still happening despite the skiffs. I’ve written four picture books so far and I hear back from Floris next week. I’m going to start a new project this weekend too. You can read more about what I’m doing on my writing retreat here.

Find the fabulous Portsoy Skiffettes online, on twitter and on facebook.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2013 in Events, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Skiff World Championship

  1. George K. Brannen English Scholar's Fund at GSU

    July 13, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Look’n good!!!!!!

     
  2. Colin Galbraith

    July 19, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Thank you for your wonderful account of the First Skiff World Championships our friends from Troon Coastal Rowing and we expect all the other rowers and non rowers had a great week at Ullapool Scotland.

     
    • auntyemily

      July 29, 2013 at 12:04 pm

      Thanks Colin! Was such a great event. I got out on the water with the Newhaven rowers too so that was grand (:

       

Leave a Reply

 
Scotland Writers FC

a stramash in the goalmouth of literature

Cultivating and Creating

A life of joy and celebration.

Tartan Kicks - The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

quiteirregular

Jem Bloomfield on culture, gender and Christianity

Schietree

Writer, Reader, Kind of Spritely Looking

Gill Arbuthnott: Children's Author

children's books.com website

chaestrathie

words and pictures

Televigion

Words inspired by moving images

sds

subjects, objects, verbs

Great Big Jar

A great big jar of bloggyness

wildswimmers

on Scotland's West Coast

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Yay! YA+

Scotland's First Festival Dedicated To YA Fiction...And More!

Scotland's Nature

Scottish Natural Heritage

The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven

Children's author, writing coach and playwright

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

