RSS

I’m on a Writing Retreat

05 Jul

I’m staying in a beautiful harbour village in the north-west of Scotland. This is Ullapool:

IMG_20130702_190118

The Plan

I’m taking a month out to write. I’m excited because

  • It’s a month full of potential and possibilities
  • I don’t know if I can do it so it’s a new challenge
  • I’ve started already, this is day 3 and it still feels exciting

The projects I’m working on are:

  • Picture books for Floris
  • A sitcom (or two sitcoms)
  • A series of young adult fiction novels

Picture Books

Floris are the biggest children’s publisher in Scotland. A couple of months ago they invited me to tea and asked me to write for them. I know, ridiculous as it sounds that really did happen. I’m still amazed (you know when you’re thinking have they got the right person here!?) so I’ve made writing for Floris my main priority. Here are some of my Day 1 ideas (for a picture book set on Shetland):

IMG_20130703_154034

On day two I put these ideas aside and wrote a new story about a pheasant and a mouse. This time I didn’t plan out ideas on luggage tags. I just typed the whole story straight from my head. It’s strange how no two stories get written in the same way.

Puzzling it Out

Writing picture books is really a big puzzle. You need to create a great story and great characters but you also need to tell the story across the right amount on double paged spreads. Each page has to be sufficiently visually different to the page before and you want people to keep turning the pages to see what happens next. Every page needs to be perfect. Thankfully Floris are helping me so I’m in good hands.

Sitcom(s)

A year ago I wrote a sitcom and got some feedback from BBC comedy and from Edinburgh screenwriter Adrian Mead. I wrote about pitching it here. I’ve not had chance to work on the sitcom in light of the feedback so I’m looking forward to getting back to it. I’m encouraged by the fact that BBC TV Comedy said it was funny. Apparently that’s the hardest thing to get right. I can work on the things they’ve suggested like developing one of the less developed characters but if it wasn’t funny there’s no way I’d spend more time on it. They also said they were happy to see any new versions or anything else I write so on that note I’ve got an idea for a new sitcom (but we’ll see how the time goes!)

YA Novels

I’ve planned a series of 12 young adult fiction novels set in Scotland. Originally I pitched them to CBBC as a television series idea but now I’d like to try to write one of them as a novel. They have a science theme. If they work then that’s great but if they don’t then that’s okay. I just want to give it a go, that’s what this month is about.

Food, Sleep and Slowing Down

I’m enjoying cooking and eating well. I’m staying with another writer and we’ve been taking it in turns to make meals. I’m also enjoying sleep and not setting my alarm. I know writers are supposed to get up early and write several thousand words but I feel a lot better when I’ve slept and that helps me to write better too.

This may sound lazy but if you know me you’ll know I’m generally one of those people who does too much. I’ve had bosses who have asked me to give 50% instead of 100% because my 50% is most people’s 100%. I don’t always have time to eat or even get dressed when I’m busy so I’m trying to slow down a while I’m here and look after myself.

Exploring Ullapool

Most days I go for a walk.

On Wednesday I tried to join the Ullapool running club but no one turned up so I went on my own run and ended up a bit lost. A family of deer followed me and I met a lizard. Once I was on the right path again I relaxed and that’s when the story I was working on that day got exciting. It just goes to show hills and getting lost are great for creativity.

On Thursday I visited the library and the lovely CHORUS exhibition (bird song, bird photos and bird boxes) in the Macphael Centre:

IMG_20130704_145228

Today I visited art exhibition An Talla Solais, these two little squares are part of a miniature works of art from 100 artists. It’s called  ‘VOYAGE: A Journey in Tiny Steps’:

IMG_20130705_154423

World Skiff Championship

Next week it’s the world skiff championship. The village will be bustling with tourists and competitors. Princess Anne is opening the championships so I’ll pop down to the harbour for that. I’ve spotted several teams out practicing already:

IMG_20130702_190032
My Residency
I’m excited to be writing in Ullapool. I should mention I’ve been working as the Scottish Book Trust Reader in Residence at Leith Library 2.5 days a week for the last 9 months. The library part of my residency just finished but I’m still funded for 3 months to do my own practice. That’s why I’m able to take one month out to write – I would never normally be able do something ike this. It’s all thanks to the Scottish Book Trust and Creative Scotland. It’s also thanks to my writer friend Mairi for letting me stay!

UPDATE: Read about the Skiff World Championship (and how I ended up in a rowing boat) here.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “I’m on a Writing Retreat

  1. George K. Brannen English Scholar's Fund at GSU

    July 5, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    Heck, I’m excited for you. Sounds like a very Kool thing to me. I also love the “children’s” story deal. I’ve always felt as the tale is worded: “the children are our future.” Thanks for helping them to see through you’re eyes.
    Best!
    G.

    *That looks like a nice place to find amazement!!!!

     
    • auntyemily

      July 5, 2013 at 11:52 pm

      Thanks lots George and I agree about the children (:

       
  2. Magi Gibson

    July 30, 2013 at 11:53 am

    That all sounds so positive, Emily. What a great idea to go on a retreat for this final quarter of the Residency. I’ll look out for your name appearing on all sorts of things!

     
    • auntyemily

      July 30, 2013 at 12:00 pm

      Aw, thanks Magi! Looking forward to keeping in touch (:

       
  3. Annie Bell

    July 30, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    Have a wonderful time in Ullapool and can’t wait to see what yo come up with! All the best,
    Annie Bell/Reader Development

     

Leave a Reply

 
Scotland Writers FC

a stramash in the goalmouth of literature

Cultivating and Creating

A life of joy and celebration.

Tartan Kicks - The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

quiteirregular

Jem Bloomfield on culture, gender and Christianity

Schietree

Writer, Reader, Kind of Spritely Looking

Gill Arbuthnott: Children's Author

children's books.com website

chaestrathie

words and pictures

Televigion

Words inspired by moving images

sds

subjects, objects, verbs

Great Big Jar

A great big jar of bloggyness

wildswimmers

on Scotland's West Coast

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Yay! YA+

Scotland's First Festival Dedicated To YA Fiction...And More!

Scotland's Nature

Scottish Natural Heritage

The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven

Children's author, writing coach and playwright

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

