RSS

Wood Foraging in Pictures

19 May

I’ve recently installed a woodburning stove in my lounge and I totally love it. So when Daniel said:

Doddsy, wood foraging next week?

I said YES! Daniel is a wood foraging pro:

IMG_20130503_115622

Back in the day when we worked at Changeworks, I dreamed of getting a stove but most people told me it was a bad idea. Most people, but not Daniel. He had a stove and pointed out how easy (and fun) it was to forage for wood in Edinburgh. Four years later and there we were.

My bow saw was a bit smaller than Daniel’s so it took me a bit longer to cut through the logs:

IMG_20130503_105036

This was the pile we cut between us in less than an hour:

IMG_20130503_115805

Daniel suggested bringing a wheelie bin but I only had a wheelie suitcase. I filled it just as it started to rain:

IMG_20130503_115729

I felt proud of the wood we’d chopped as I walked back through the trees:

IMG_20130503_115907

But when I got to the streets I suddenly felt a little self conscious. Did people assume I lived in the wild and had decided to return home and all of my worldly belongings were logs?

When I got home I started my first log pile, hurrah!:

IMG_20130503_120009

My arm ached a little but I loved the experience of cutting my own fuel and being outdoors. Thanks to Daniel, I’ll be foraging again soon and next winter I’ll have the pleasure of burning those logs!

Just in case you were wondering, the wood was already dead and lying on the ground, we just cut it into bits. 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2013 in Education, Environment, nature

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Wood Foraging in Pictures

  1. Gaile

    March 30, 2014 at 10:12 am

    Love this. I’ve recently had a wood burner installed (Glasgow) and would very much like to forage for next years fuel. But as simple as it may sound I was a bit mystified as to how to go about it. This is the most straight forward guide I’ve seen. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Scotland Writers FC

a stramash in the goalmouth of literature

Cultivating and Creating

A life of joy and celebration.

Tartan Kicks - The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

quiteirregular

Jem Bloomfield on culture, gender and Christianity

Schietree

Writer, Reader, Kind of Spritely Looking

Gill Arbuthnott: Children's Author

children's books.com website

chaestrathie

words and pictures

Televigion

Words inspired by moving images

sds

subjects, objects, verbs

Great Big Jar

A great big jar of bloggyness

wildswimmers

on Scotland's West Coast

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Yay! YA+

Scotland's First Festival Dedicated To YA Fiction...And More!

Scotland's Nature

Scottish Natural Heritage

The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven

Children's author and playwright

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

