RSS

Keep on Running

06 May

Hannah was running the London Marathon while we were on the sidelines with pints of Shandy and cheers. I took this as she ran past. We told her to keep going and that she was doing great. She said her feet hurt.

IMG_20130421_135854

“It’s the cheers that keep you going” that’s what they say. I’ve never run a marathon and don’t think I ever will but last week I started running again. I ran on Thursday and last night too. I ran by the sea and the oyster catchers scuttled across my path. I’m excited to be running again. The thing is I’ve been a bit ill since Christmas. I’ve not been able to cycle or run or even walk too far.

It’s been frustrating. All sorts of strange things kept happening to me. For two weeks I couldn’t move for 2 hours every morning. The doctors said it was an arthritic hangover, over night my muscles were seizing up and in the morning they just didn’t work. It’s taken a few months to recover and at the same time a close family member was diagnosed with cancer. On top of that I’ve been having building work in my flat. It was supposed to take a few days and it’s ended up taking 9 weeks.

So all in all I was struggling a bit but I didn’t really tell people. I thought it would pass and I’d be alright. I managed to keep up with work but I didn’t manage to keep up with all of my friends or the social things that were happening around me.

Eventually I realised I needed to be brave and tell people I was struggling. When you’re going through something difficult you need people to cheer you on, to tell you to keep going. Just to be there with you on the sidelines.

So I did it, I told a bunch of people I trust and things started to get better. Just the act of telling people in itself was so good. I think it’s hard to admit you can’t do things sometimes or to admit you need help but we do need each other. Last week I started running again and I remembered… it’s the cheers that keep us going!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2013 in Events

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Keep on Running

  1. Elspeth

    May 6, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    Three cheers! One for asking for help, one for running and one for blogging about it 🙂

     
  2. Laura Anne

    May 6, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    Sorry you’ve been having a rubbish time lately Emily. But here’s my little whoop whoop! Just keep joggin’ joggin’ joggin’… (Dory from Finding Nemo style) for you in the form of a blog comment.

     
  3. elspethjmackenzie

    May 6, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    I can empathise with you, Emily. I have been struggling on my own with a broken shoulder for 9 weeks and also found it really hard to ask for help. On the mend now though and looking forward to a visit to the gym soon. Well done on getting back to running. If you don’t think you could do a marathon, how about a half marathon??

     
    • auntyemily

      May 7, 2013 at 8:20 am

      We’ll see about the half marathon. Was meant to be doing the great north swim in June but haven’t be able to train and it’s a bit close now! Sorry to hear about your shoulder but glad you’re on the mend. I hope you have asked for help? It won’t be long and you’ll be back at the gym, hurrah!

       
  4. Kate

    May 7, 2013 at 10:28 pm

    Oh Emily – so sorry that you have been having a rubbish time…..I can empathise with you….having had a really bad time last summer at KSB….its good to share your frustrations – friends will be there when you need them….getting out there helps – swimming is my vice! Great that you have started running…..take care xxxx

     
    • auntyemily

      May 9, 2013 at 11:34 am

      Thanks loads Kate. So glad you’ve got the new job and things are so much better! xxx

       
  5. jam

    May 9, 2013 at 10:21 am

    so sorry you’ve been having a yuk time. always cheering you on and thank you for sharing your lows as well as your highs. big hugs x

     

Leave a Reply

 
Scotland Writers FC

a stramash in the goalmouth of literature

Cultivating and Creating

A life of joy and celebration.

Tartan Kicks - The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

quiteirregular

Jem Bloomfield on culture, gender and Christianity

Schietree

Writer, Reader, Kind of Spritely Looking

Gill Arbuthnott: Children's Author

children's books.com website

chaestrathie

words and pictures

Televigion

Words inspired by moving images

sds

subjects, objects, verbs

Great Big Jar

A great big jar of bloggyness

wildswimmers

on Scotland's West Coast

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Yay! YA+

Scotland's First Festival Dedicated To YA Fiction...And More!

Scotland's Nature

Scottish Natural Heritage

The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven

Children's author and playwright

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

