RSS

Hopes For The Future and What If…

07 Jan

I’m trying to set some goals for the year ahead and write an annual general review of 2012. I’m finding it difficult. I had a look at last years review and my hopes for the future were

  • Make my CBeebies pilot into a BBC series
  • Publish a picture book
  • Get better at the ukulele
  • Make freelancing work and collaborate too
  • Use my creativity to make the world a better place

I thought about if I’d achieved them and I wondered what I should add to the list. I wrote lists of top fives for 2012 but I got a bit lost in what the purpose of it all was. Then I read Milo’s McLaughlin’s Clear Minded Creative New Year’s ‘what ifs‘. These ones really stood out to me:

What if.. someone told you they believe in you?

What if.. you told someone you believed in them?

What if.. you believed in yourself?

What if… you used your knowledge or skills to help others?

What if.. you honoured your heart’s desires instead of chasing meaningless goals?

It became clear. It reminded me of when I work with groups of five-year olds…

We make stars to remind us that we’re all like stars that shine in the sky. I ask them if they know a song about stars. We sing it and we talk about Mozart who wrote Twinkle Twinkle Little Star when he was just 5.

2011-12-10 13.54.12

What if someone had said “that’s a rubbish song, why are you playing that?” He might have stopped. But someone probably said, that’s a good song…

I give them wrapped up presents. We unwrap them to discover the presents are words and we talk about how important it is to give each other good words because they help us to grow and shine.

I explain that I gave up writing when I was little because I didn’t know I was any good at it. Now I’m writing for CBeebies because someone told me I was good.

I tell them to tell each other.

If someone’s a good friend, tell them. If they’re amazing at football, tell them.

I tell them they’re all good at something and they’re probably good at lots of things.

I say if you don’t know what you’re good at yet it might be because no one has told you you’re good at it. Or you might not have found it yet. Sometimes things are hard when you start but if you keep trying you get good at them. Like walking or swimming, could anyone do that straight away?

Someone enthusiastically gives an example of how when they first went to ballet it was really hard but now they love it and we all nod in understanding.

I realise now I got so lost in trying to categorise 2012’s top fives that I forgot the bigger picture. I forgot why I became a freelancer and what I really think is important. I forgot the lessons for five-year olds are the lessons I need to keep learning. So I’ve written this as a reminder of Mozart and how we’re all made to encourage one another. We’re all made to shine. Tomorrow I’ll get back on track and write my annual general review.

But tonight, just now, I’ll think of stars.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2013 in Education

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Hopes For The Future and What If…

  1. Paul Forrester

    January 7, 2013 at 10:52 am

    That’s a cracking blog post, Emily. What an excellent summary of the lessons we should frequently remind ourselves of. I can only dream of having such empathy – and an ability to communicate so effectively – with 5-year-olds! Wishing you all the best for the year ahead.

     
  2. Elspeth Murray

    January 7, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    You’re really good at reflecting and helping other people do that. And you’re really good at blogging. Your avatar even looks like it’s looking up in approval at the comments people leave 🙂

     
    • auntyemily

      January 7, 2013 at 12:58 pm

      Ha ha, thanks E! You rock!

       
  3. Roy

    January 7, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Lovely thoughtful post, Emily. Made me consider what has motivated me in the past – and think about the importance of offering some positive reinforcement to other people when the opportunity arises.

     
    • auntyemily

      January 7, 2013 at 1:05 pm

      Aw, thanks Roy. I think you’re encouraging and positive already, you’re always friendly and interested in others (:

       
  4. nicolelovesart

    January 7, 2013 at 1:33 pm

    Thank you so much for this post! I needed it very much. I didn’t know Mozart wrote “Twinkle”. So cool!

     
    • auntyemily

      January 7, 2013 at 1:37 pm

      Thanks Nicole. Really glad I detoured off brief and wrote something else now (:

       

Leave a Reply

 
Scotland Writers FC

a stramash in the goalmouth of literature

Cultivating and Creating

A life of joy and celebration.

Tartan Kicks - The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

quiteirregular

Jem Bloomfield on culture, gender and Christianity

Schietree

Writer, Reader, Kind of Spritely Looking

Gill Arbuthnott: Children's Author

children's books.com website

chaestrathie

words and pictures

Televigion

Words inspired by moving images

sds

subjects, objects, verbs

Great Big Jar

A great big jar of bloggyness

wildswimmers

on Scotland's West Coast

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Yay! YA+

Scotland's First Festival Dedicated To YA Fiction...And More!

Scotland's Nature

Scottish Natural Heritage

The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven

Children's author, writing coach and playwright

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

