RSS

Lots of podcasts and a funeral

18 Nov

Lately I’ve been making lots of podcasts and I’ve been in a couple too. Balancing everything has been a little harder than usual because my Nan died last week, she just went to sleep and didn’t wake up.  The same week my nephew was seriously ill in hospital and a close family member had some terrible news. Thankfully I have some good friends who’ve been there for wanders round the park, whisky tasting and cups of tea. I’ll miss my Nan, we call her Nanan. She was a little bit cheeky, a little bit naughty and a lot brilliant. The good news is my nephew is out of hospital and recovering and I’m spending a few days with my family.

On a slightly more cheerful note, I’ve been making a series of 12 Zero Waste Podcasts to try to encourage the community to reduce waste. I’ve been making podcasts as a volunteer for Greener Leith for over a year now so it’s great to finally be paid to do it. These podcasts are funded by Edinburgh Council Waste Action Grants, Vegware and Changeworks. Just recently I’ve been making one a week to try to get all 12 finished by the end of the year, it’s a big logistical challenge for me. I’m sharing the previous week’s podcast via social media, editing the current week’s podcasts, doing interviews for the following week’s podcasts and setting up interviews for the podcasts in the weeks ahead, that’s all in one week. I’m also editing photos, writing podcast blogs, emailing people to thank them for the previous weeks podcasts, there’s lots to think about. I’m enjoying the project, especially meeting and interviewing so many interesting people. Their stories help to present ‘reducing waste’ in a fun and engaging way. I really like editing too, telling a story through sounds.

One of the podcasts I made was with Leith Primary School. It’s about what they’re doing to cut waste in the classroom, I think it’s my favourite because it’s all presented by the children, they’re ace! Listen to it here. Another podcasts is about the Sofi’s clothes swap party, the next swap is on the 23rd November, it’s a great way to refresh your wardrobe and reduce waste but if you’re not so sure, check out photos, blog and podcast here.

This week as well as doing podcast interviews I visited Low Port Primary in West Lothian for book week. I love running poetry and creative writing workshops but I’m new to it. I’ve spent a few years teaching children about science but sharing more about my self and encouraging them to see how creative and brilliant they are is quite different and a little scary for me. It was great to see they enjoyed it and I had some lovely feedback from the teachers. I’ve started a ‘schools‘ page and I’ve put some recent quotes up from teachers. I’ll make it into a proper page when I come back.

I’ve been in a couple of podasts too. Something really exciting happened, Chris Smith had a listen to the podcasts I’ve been making and got in touch to say he liked them so much he wanted to interview me about them and encourage other women into digital media by sharing my story. I wasn’t expecting that! It was good to talk to him, he was very encouraging. You can listen to the interview here. The Scottish Poetry Library interviewed me about my book too, I can’t quite believe they wanted me to be on their podcast but I’m overjoyed to have been featured. You can listen to it here, its got a funky jazz intro!

Lastly, there’s been a couple of things I’ve been trying to help promote so if you could help too that would be amazing? Firstly there’s a Chrismas Hamper Appeal to provide food and presents for people in Edinburgh who are struggling this Christmas. Secondly Greener Leith got into the final for the Energy Share Awards for the community wind turbine idea, AMAZING! If we get the most votes then we win £100,000 towards the turbine – please do check it out and vote.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in Banana me beautiful, Education, Events, Media, poetry, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Lots of podcasts and a funeral

  1. taureanw

    November 18, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Sorry for your loss & I’ll have to check out the podcasts you listed. I tend to go through a lot of podcasts while I’m @ work & could always use a new one!

     
  2. Milo

    November 18, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    Really sorry to hear about your Nan Emily, I know what it’s like to lose a much loved Grandparent. Glad though that your nephew is on the mend and that you still managed to be so productive with your podcasts and workshops.

     
    • auntyemily

      November 19, 2011 at 6:16 pm

      Thanks Milo, saw my nephew yesterday, he’s looking so well! He was laughing and giggling (:

       
  3. Anna B

    November 18, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Lovely post Ems xxx

     

Leave a Reply

 
Scotland Writers FC

a stramash in the goalmouth of literature

Cultivating and Creating

A life of joy and celebration.

Tartan Kicks - The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

quiteirregular

Jem Bloomfield on culture, gender and Christianity

Schietree

Writer, Reader, Kind of Spritely Looking

Gill Arbuthnott: Children's Author

children's books.com website

chaestrathie

words and pictures

Televigion

Words inspired by moving images

sds

subjects, objects, verbs

Great Big Jar

A great big jar of bloggyness

wildswimmers

on Scotland's West Coast

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Yay! YA+

Scotland's First Festival Dedicated To YA Fiction...And More!

Scotland's Nature

Scottish Natural Heritage

The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven

Children's author, writing coach and playwright

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

