RSS

West Port Book Festival 2011

30 Sep

I’m really looking forward to being part of the West Port Book Festival 2011. It takes place in second-hand book shops, art spaces and pubs in West Port and Tollcross, Edinburgh. Here’s what it’s all about (from their website):

“Our aim has been to offer free events to a diverse audience who share our passion for books, bookshops and fun. We have also been creative, dipping into the dressing up box, casting our eye around for new talent and transforming local shops into intimate, innovative venues.” 

There are loads of exciting and unusual events this year from getting your old books mended by a Book Doctor to meeting a Doctor Who writer. As well as a whole host of brilliant Authors there’s a tea dance, an open mic night, new gaelic fiction, nibbles and a chance for you to release your really bad writing in a therapy session.

I’m part of the line up on the 13th October, 8.30pm at Edinburgh Books. Here’s what the programme says:

“Storyteller, podcast/film maker, scientist, entertainer, singer and poet, there’s no-one quite like puffin-loving banana fan Emily Dodd and her magical blend of song, story and poem. Edward Lear, Dr Seuss and A. A. Milne collide in what promises to be a joyous hour for the young and young at heart alike.”

I was really excited when Peggy Hughes sent the above text through and asked if I was OK with it, the answer was most definitely a yes! Peggy is the Festival Programme Director and she’s also the Communications Officer at the Scottish Poetry Library. I first met Peggy when she came to my Banana me beautiful book launch with Colin Fraser in July. It’s hard for me to take in that the programme is talking about me, I read it and think “she sounds good, I’d like to go and see her” and I can’t quite make the leap in my head that she… is me.

You can collect a programme from one of the venues or view it online here. There’s a funky mobile phone app too. For tickets email tickets@westportbookfestival.org. I’m making an extra programme for my event, it will include all original artwork, photos and a postcard of a depressed banana in prison, like my fringe programme.

I attended the official West Port Programme Launch last week in Edinburgh Books with cake, wine, great chat and short speeches. Mister Tollcross wrote about the launch here, I enjoyed the evening. It was good to see the lovely Sara Sheridan again, she’s in West Port too.  Sara helped me to plan my book launch and read one of my stories ‘Owl’s Birthday’ at it, brilliant. There were space raiders crisps at the launch so here’s a spacey version of a photo I took.

My event is listed in The List Magazine with a slightly different write-up, they describe me as a ‘Eco Activist’, I think they’ve been reading Greener Leith. Thanks to The List for including me.

The Edinburgh Reporter have compiled an excellent list of 5 things to go and see in the West Port Book Festival, thanks for including me in your top 5 Edinburgh Reporter.

I recommend you see it all…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2011 in Banana me beautiful, Events, poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “West Port Book Festival 2011

  1. Colin Galbraith

    October 6, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Looking forward to your event, Emily. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
Scotland Writers FC

a stramash in the goalmouth of literature

Cultivating and Creating

A life of joy and celebration.

Tartan Kicks - The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

The Magazine For Scottish Women's Football

quiteirregular

Jem Bloomfield on culture, gender and Christianity

Schietree

Writer, Reader, Kind of Spritely Looking

Gill Arbuthnott: Children's Author

children's books.com website

chaestrathie

words and pictures

Televigion

Words inspired by moving images

sds

subjects, objects, verbs

Great Big Jar

A great big jar of bloggyness

wildswimmers

on Scotland's West Coast

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Yay! YA+

Scotland's First Festival Dedicated To YA Fiction...And More!

Scotland's Nature

Scottish Natural Heritage

The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven

Children's author and playwright

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

