RSS

Speed of Light

03 Jun

This August Arthur’s Seat will be ablaze with the lights of hundreds of choreographed runners in light suits. It’s NVA’s Speed of Light. You can buy a ticket but just to warn you, I’m one of those runners. I ran about in a light tunnel at The Edinburgh Camera Obscurer to create this artists impression of what we might look like.

Actually I’m slightly concerned that you’ll be ooo-ing and ahh-ing at the fusion of public art and sporting endeavours when somebody will shout “What’s that?”. You spot a lone set of lights on the edge of the crags, hurrying to catch up with the others. Perhaps it’s a gymnast about to do something spectacular? No, on closer inspection the lone light appears to be slowing down. It’s ruining the display completely, why is it there? Now the renegade light is lying on the ground, it’s stopped…   That will be me if I don’t get fit.

For over a month now I’ve been running every other day. Well almost. I substituted a few of my runs for Zumba and a couple of long bike rides but I’ve still run more than I’ve ever run before. I’m not at the speed of light (or even 10k fit) but I’ve got a few weeks to go.

I persuaded a few bright sparks to sign up to run in Speed of Light including Peggy Hughes, Anna Beswick and Al Innes. Leah Lockhart and Marianne Paget signed up voluntarily!

How’s the training going? Well I’ve got a little bit thinner and I’ve started to almost enjoy running. If I run in the rain people say things like “rather you then me” or “well done!”, I quite like that. Animals do funny things too. I saw a crow sit down on the grass like a duck, crows never sit down. I also often race a vole that pops out of a hole in the wall. He sees me and runs as fast as he can along the bottom of the wall until he gets to the next hole where he disappears.

Now I’m wondering, what will it really look like? There are photos on the NVA website but I’ve found something even better. Hurrah for Wales – they’ve done something similar, light suits and everything. I imagine we’ll all look something like these sheep:

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2012 in Events, Film

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Speed of Light

  1. Miriam Adcock

    June 4, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Best of luck for the Festival of LIght – it looks like it’s going to be amazing. Although now I’ve seen the sheep – you’ve got a tough act to follow. Have fun x

     
    • auntyemily

      June 6, 2012 at 11:39 am

      Thanks Miriam, those sheep are amazing!

       
  2. Marianne

    June 4, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Baa-ludy funny video!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

The Grove Community Garden

Fountainbridge Comes Alive Through Community

Forest Families

Promoting play in nature

Home Is Where The Cake Is

Creating real food recipes and cakes and baking delectable vintage afternoon teas

broadway, brothels & true love

A JOURNEY INTO MARRIAGE

Engaging Communities in Scotland

thinking differently about engagement

walkingwithpoets

'by leaves we live'

Leither Lass

A Leither girl's guide to Edinburgh...

fireflymagazineblog

The blog of Firefly magazine. The seasonal magazine for families who are wild at heart.

The Found Explorer

creative reuse and regenerated arts education

Edinburgh Museums & Galleries Outreach

Taking Edinburgh Museums & Galleries out to you!

ronanandfriends

This is a bit about me and my friends.

Lynsey May writes down the night

Writing down the night in the long, long nights of Scotland.

Edinburgh Cycle Chic

Because you don't have to wear Lycra

maggigibson

Just another WordPress.com site

Leith Library

A blog from the Scottish Book Trust Reader in Residence at Leith Library

thisislittleforks

text + performance

SpeyGrian

Outdoor learning for writers, artists, scientists and educators

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

