RSS

Top Ten Tips: Pitching a Sitcom

22 May

Last week I met with BBC TV Comedy and BBC Radio Comedy to pitch my first sitcom. I’ve put together a list of tips based on the feedback I gained from the professionals during the meetings. Tips 1 – 6 are tips from the TV meeting and 7 – 10 are from radio.

 

Top Ten Tips

1) Always pitch a script as well as an idea

You could be brilliant at writing your pitch document but rubbish at writing comedy. Your pitch may sound quite average but your comedy writing could be brilliant. It’s the writing that makes it work, they need to see that.

2) Character A loves Character B but hates Character C…

When describing characters in your pitch always explain how they relate to one another. This was something I did in my pitch document (hurrah!). It’s important because it’s where the comedy situations arise from. Often pitch documents lack descriptions of how the characters relate to one another.

3) Steer clear of ‘the one where they meet the other characters’

First episodes should be cracking stories just like every other episode. Nearly all new scripts are first episodes. Typically people spend too much time setting up characters and nothing actually happens. Sadly my first episode description included the killer phrase ‘the one where they meet the other characters’, drat! At least every other episode had a very clear storyline. But all is not lost, they said my script will let them know if my comedy works or not. Everyone does the episode one thing but now you won’t (and I won’t next time).

4) Include the channel

This is probably totally obvious but I hadn’t included which channel I was aiming for in my pitch document. As a new writer I wouldn’t be aiming for BBC1 but perhaps BBC2, 3 or 4…

5) It’s always good to have a bit of poetry up your sleeve

This was something that was said and it made me smile lots. My point here is BE YOURSELF.

6) Consider pitching to radio

Some comedy starts on radio and moves to TV and vice versa.

7) Watch Bridesmaids

Especially if you want to be a female comedy writer.

8) Consider Shakespeare

Think about universal themes and write about them.

9) Heart, mind and soul

What makes you tic? What are you interested in? What do you do aside from writing comedy? WHAT IS YOUR ESSENCE? Your comedy will come out of all of that (if you have any left after all of those questions).

10) You can take or leave the feedback

Listen to it all, consider it all, respond to the best of it. The professionals can have totally different opinions on the same idea. That’s OK.

How do I arrange a meeting in the first place?

Good question! I don’t think there’s a formula but here’s how it happened for me…

First I got actors, writers and comedy loving friends to read my script and give me feedback. It was amazingly helpful and it improved loads as a result. It also gave me the confidence to pitch my idea, especially because I’d asked friends who I knew would be honest with me.

Then, while I was working for CBeebies I met with the talent team to let them know what I was up to. At the end of that meeting I asked who I should pitch a sitcom to. I got in touch with the recommended people by email to see if they would be interested in seeing a one page treatment (a pitch document summarising the idea).

There’ s no one way to write a pitch document but I included a description of the sitcom, character profiles, episode storylines and a photo summarising the show. I’ve made lots of one page pitch documents for Children’s BBC and previously when I pitched adult comedy to an independent production company they asked me for a one page treatment -that’s why I went with that.

Once I’d had positive responses by email I sent the treatment through and next I offered to send the script. I also got in touch to suggest when we could meet to discuss the idea. A few weeks later I had a couple of meetings…

What’s Next?

I should have added the tip, be patient. Following the pitch meetings I’ve now got a few weeks to wait before I get feedback on my script. Wish me luck!

BBC Writers Room is full of great resources for comedy writers including scripts and competitions.

If you enjoyed this post you might like ‘How to Successfully Stalk Comedians‘, a guest blog I wrote for 12Books12Months.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2012 in Media, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Top Ten Tips: Pitching a Sitcom

  1. Marianne

    May 22, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Way to go! Let us know how you get on. Any news back on the competition yet (not that you’re hanging about for that)?
    Mxx

     
    • auntyemily

      May 22, 2012 at 11:20 pm

      Thanks Marianne, no joy on the comp but I’ll keep at it! (:

       
  2. m louise kelly

    May 23, 2012 at 10:35 am

    What a generous and informative post! Thanks. And i’d second your point 4 – but for radio too. I went to a writing for radio workshop last year where they really stressed this.

    And wish you lots and lots of luck! x

     
    • auntyemily

      May 23, 2012 at 11:07 am

      Thanks Louise, good to get the radio perspective on point 4 too (:

       
  3. belledelettres

    May 23, 2012 at 11:32 am

    just such a helpful and clear post! Thanks so much.

     
  4. Scott

    December 11, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    really enjoyed reading that, well done and good luck.

     
  5. popculturemaverick

    February 28, 2013 at 1:26 am

    I’m currently writing a (hopeful) sitcom myself, adapted from a series of stage sketches. This is a really helpful page- it’s nice to be able to read advice written by people with experience, rather than vague guidelines haha! Thank you :D

    pcm xx

     
    • auntyemily

      February 28, 2013 at 8:30 am

      You’re welcome, glad it was useful and good luck with your show (:

       
  6. Dave Herman

    March 12, 2013 at 10:15 am

    Thanks Emily! Really useful tips, especially the one about including the relationships between the characters! I’m putting together a pitch document for a sitcom, and I’m including a list of brief episode ideas. Is that advisable, do you think? I also have a small section saying something about the overall theme. Am I normal?!

     
    • auntyemily

      March 12, 2013 at 10:33 am

      Yes that sounds great – put 6 or 12 episodes (so they can see it will go to more than one series) and something about the tone / theme / overall show theme is perfect! Good luck!

       
  7. Davies Maponya

    April 18, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Top-Ten tips for sure thank you every much. Now as for writing treatment, i would love to see a sample or a sample of pitching document for a sitcom. How do i go about it?

     

Leave a Reply

 
Lou Treleaven, writer

Writing for children, submitting manuscripts, reviewing great books and other wordcentric activities

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

The Grove Community Garden

Fountainbridge Comes Alive Through Community

Forest Families

Promoting play in nature

Home Is Where The Cake Is

Creating real food recipes and cakes and baking delectable vintage afternoon teas

broadway, brothels & true love

A JOURNEY INTO MARRIAGE

Engaging Communities in Scotland

thinking differently about engagement

walkingwithpoets

'by leaves we live'

Leither Lass

A Leither girl's guide to Edinburgh...

fireflymagazineblog

The blog of Firefly magazine. The seasonal magazine for families who are wild at heart.

The Found Explorer

creative reuse and regenerated arts education

Edinburgh Museums & Galleries Outreach

Taking Edinburgh Museums & Galleries out to you!

ronanandfriends

This is a bit about me and my friends.

Lynsey May writes down the night

Writing down the night in the long, long nights of Scotland.

Edinburgh Cycle Chic

Because you don't have to wear Lycra

maggigibson

Just another WordPress.com site

Leith Library

A blog from the Scottish Book Trust Reader in Residence at Leith Library

thisislittleforks

text + performance

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 210 other followers

