RSS

CBeebies Glasgow and Edinburgh Gigs

18 Apr

I started a new job at BBC Children’s Scotland last Friday. I’ve been commissioned to develop some new science programmes after pitching a science related idea during the Scottish Book Trust CBBC Lab. This is an exciting new step for me. I’ll be working in Children’s Development until the beginning of May.

It wasn’t too long ago I blogged about missing science. I’m delighted to be working on CBeebies science projects. Since the projects I’m involved in are in development I can’t tell you about them, sorry.

I can tell you that I’m staying with lovely @suddenlymum and her family. I can also tell you I’m very excited to have a BBC email address. I can now work the printer and I DJ-ed on the water cooler today and felt quite pleased with myself. That is I filled up my tea-cup with boiling water at the same time as filling my water bottle with cold water, I’m working that water like a BBC pro…

I owe a big thank you to BBC Children’s Scotland the Scottish Book Trust for training me to write for CBeebies and CBBC in their writer development labs. If you want to find out more Anita Gallo wrote a lovely piece about the recent CBBC Lab we both attended on the Scottish Book Trust Blog.

Edinburgh Gigs

I’ve a few performances coming up, it would be lovely to see you there! Just click on the links for more info.

April 24th: Electric Tales at the Stand Comedy Club Edinburgh: I’m doing a 15 minute storytelling slot, I’m also bringing along my solar-powered bees…

June 11th: Blind Poetics at the Blind Poet: Massively chuffed to have been asked to headline this, I’m doing a 20 minute performance poetry slot, yikes!

June 13th: TenRed Spoken Word at the Persevere, Leith Ten poets, 10 minutes each, should be fun!

If you’re a West Lothian Primary or Early Years Teacher I’m running storytelling training on the 11th May, you can book it through the Council CPD.

If you’re part of the Lothian Association of Youth Clubs I’m running Crafty Storytelling training on the 23rd June, book it through their website.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2012 in Banana me beautiful, Media, poetry, Science, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “CBeebies Glasgow and Edinburgh Gigs

  1. SuddenlyMum

    April 18, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Lovely having Aunty Emily and her water cooler ways in our house :)

     
  2. auntyemily

    April 23, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Loved staying with you! x

     
  3. Rupert Neil Bumfrey (@rupertbu)

    July 9, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    Congratulations on the role with BBC.

    Have you ever participated, let alone organised, in an event @100TPC, a yearly event held globally in late September? http://100tpc.org/

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Monastic

Reflecting. Relating. Living. Obeying.

Lou Treleaven, writer

Writing for children, submitting manuscripts, reviewing great books and other wordcentric activities

Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

The Grove Community Garden

Fountainbridge Comes Alive Through Community

Forest Families

Promoting play in nature

Home Is Where The Cake Is

Creating real food recipes and cakes and baking delectable vintage afternoon teas

broadway, brothels & true love

A JOURNEY INTO MARRIAGE

Engaging Communities in Scotland

thinking differently about engagement

walkingwithpoets

'by leaves we live'

Leither Lass

A Leither girl's guide to Edinburgh...

fireflymagazineblog

The blog of Firefly magazine. The seasonal magazine for families who are wild at heart.

The Found Explorer

creative reuse and regenerated arts education

Edinburgh Museums & Galleries Outreach

Taking Edinburgh Museums & Galleries out to you!

ronanandfriends

This is a bit about me and my friends.

Lynsey May writes down the night

Writing down the night in the long, long nights of Scotland.

Edinburgh Cycle Chic

Because you don't have to wear Lycra

maggigibson

Just another WordPress.com site

Leith Library

A blog from the Scottish Book Trust Reader in Residence at Leith Library

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

