RSS

The CBBC Lab: It Begins

01 Mar

Yesterday I had an exciting email, it was the schedule for the CBBC Lab. Tomorrow I go to BBC Scotland in Glasgow for day one of a training course that could change my life. Here’s how it was advertised:

Are you interested in writing for television? Would you like to write for six to twelve year olds?

Scottish Book Trust is working with the BBC on a CBBC Lab which will help you to develop your writing for a young audience. As well as providing nuts and bolts industry advice, sessions will include brainstorming original ideas, writing proposals and making a pitch.

Read more about the course on the Scottish Book Trust Website.

Every Friday in March I attend a day of training and get set a related homework task e.g. writing a programme synopsis or a script. The following week we get constructive feedback on our homework and throughout the course we develop and pitch our ideas to the people who can make them into a reality, it really is exciting!

To apply for the CBBC Lab you had to demonstrate your commitment to a career in writing and a genuine interest in writing for a young audience. I had to submit:

  • a writers CV
  • a sample of writing
  • a statement as to why I wanted to be part of the lab

In 2010 I took part in a similar course, the CBeebies Lab and loved it. I wrote a bit about it in my application statement, here are the first four paragraphs:

I am committed to writing inspiring and entertaining content for young audiences.

I have been presenting and writing workshops, science theatre and educational resources for primary school children for the last seven years. I am a storyteller with a Masters in Communicating Science, currently working as a freelance writer and producer. The CBBC Lab is a wonderful opportunity to bring my skills together.

In 2010 I participated in the CBeebies Writers Lab. The course had a profound impact on my future, confirming my desire to work in children’s television and giving me the confidence to believe in myself.

My original programme idea XXXXXXX* was taken into development following the course. I then worked as a writer and presenter to film a pilot with BBC Scotland. It was challenging, exciting, hard work and extremely fulfilling. I still can’t quite believe it happened. I’m so excited there is another opportunity to train to write for a new audience with the BBC.

The rest of the statement included the projects I’m working on now, shows and workshops I’ve written for 6 – 12 years olds and references to my favourite TV programmes / books aimed at 6 – 12 year olds.

I was thrilled to bits to hear I’d got into the CBBC lab. Right now I can’t wait to start learning, to get writing and to meet all the other participants!

*Name removed because my programme is a live project, shhhhhh, it’s a bit secret!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2012 in Events, Media, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “The CBBC Lab: It Begins

  1. belledelettres

    March 1, 2012 at 11:26 am

    More power to your elbow, Emily! You inspire me!

     
  2. auntyemily

    March 1, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Aw thanks Alison (:

     
  3. David Bishop

    March 1, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    Have a brilliant time. I am green with envy, but teach all day Fridays so couldn’t even apply. Say hello to Ali Rutherford for me, he’s a good bloke.

     
    • auntyemily

      March 1, 2012 at 11:14 pm

      Thanks David and will do (:

       
  4. Izzi

    March 3, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Yeahy Ems – so pleased for you! Can’t wait to hear about it on Weds.

     
    • auntyemily

      March 3, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Thanks Izzi (: Looking forward to seeing you x

       

Leave a Reply

 
Scran Salon

Edinburgh's monthly food shindig

The Grove Community Garden

Fountainbridge Comes Alive Through Community

Forest Families

Promoting play in nature

Home Is Where The Cake Is

Creating real food recipes and cakes and baking delectable vintage afternoon teas

broadway, brothels & true love

A JOURNEY INTO MARRIAGE

Engaging Communities in Scotland

thinking differently about engagement

walkingwithpoets

'by leaves we live'

Leither Lass

A Leither girl's guide to Edinburgh...

fireflymagazineblog

The blog of Firefly magazine. The seasonal magazine for families who are wild at heart.

The Found Explorer

creative reuse and regenerated arts education

Edinburgh Museums & Galleries Outreach

Taking Edinburgh Museums & Galleries out to you!

ronanandfriends

This is a bit about me and my friends.

Lynsey May writes down the night

Writing down the night in the long, long nights of Scotland.

Edinburgh Cycle Chic

Because you don't have to wear Lycra

maggigibson

Just another WordPress.com site

Leith Library

A blog from the Scottish Book Trust Reader in Residence at Leith Library

thisislittleforks

text + performance

SpeyGrian

Outdoor learning for writers, artists, scientists and educators

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

